NHL rescinds instigator penalty for Chara

TORONTO – The National Hockey League announced today that the instigator penalty assessed to Boston Bruins' defenseman Zdeno Chara at the conclusion of last night's game has been rescinded.

At the end of the third period, Chara was assessed a minor penalty for instigating, a major for fighting and a game misconduct under Rule 47.12, resulting in an automatic one game suspension, pending review.

The League has reviewed the incident and rescinded the automatic suspension under Rule 47.22, which states: "the suspension shall be served unless, upon review of the incident, the Director of Hockey Operations, at his discretion, deems the incident is not related to the score, previous incidents in the game or prior games, retaliatory in nature, ‘message sending,' etc."