Montana State offensive line coach Jason McEndoo has been named the Football Championship Subdivision's 2011 Assistant Coach of the Year by the American Football Coaches Association.

The award, first presented in 1997, was created to honor assistant coaches who excel in community service, commitment to the student-athlete, on-field coaching success and AFCA professional organization involvement.

McEndoo, 36, is in his ninth season at Montana State. The Bobcats are 9-2 and a co-winner of the Big Sky Conference title for the second straight season.

Other winners of the award were: Football Bowl Subdivision - Norm Parker, defensive coordinator, University of Iowa; Division II - Hank McClung, offensive line coach, University of Central Missouri; Division III - Greg Peterson, offensive coordinator, Bethel (Minn.) University; and NAIA - Craig Mullins, offensive coordinator and quarterbacks coach, Georgetown (Ky.) College.