Mitchell, McSurdy take top Big Sky honors

Eastern Washington senior quarterback Bo Levi Mitchell and Montana senior linebacker Caleb McSurdy were named the Big Sky Conference's offensive and defensive players of the year, respectively, on Tuesday.

Co-Big Sky champions Montana and Montana State both placed six players on the first team, while Bobcats' junior running back Tray Robinson was named newcomer of the year.

2011 Big Sky Football First Team

(as voted on by the head coaches and sports information directors)


QB - Bo Levi Mitchell, Eastern Washington

RB - Zack Bauman, Northern Arizona

RB - Cody Kirk, Montana State

RB - Cory McCaffrey, Portland State

FB - Tevia Tolutau, Weber State

WR - Nicholas Edwards, Eastern Washington

WR - Elvis Akpla, Montana State

WR - Rodrick Rumble, Idaho State

TE - Greg Hardy, Montana

T - Jon Opperud, Montana

T - Conrad Burbank, Montana State

G - Alex Terrien, Montana State

G - J.C. Oram, Weber State

C - Chris Powers, Eastern Washington


DT - Zach Minter, Montana State

DT - Bryan Waldhauser, Montana

DE - Jody Owens, Montana State

DE - Zach Nash, Sacramento State

OLB - Jody Owens, Montana State

OLB - Nick Webb, Weber State

ILB - A.J. Storms, Idaho State

ILB - Caleb McSurdy, Montana

CB - Trumaine Johnson, Montana

CB - T.J. Lee, Eastern Washington

S - Matt Johnson, Eastern Washington

S - DeShawn Shead, Portland State


K - Zach Brown, Portland State

P - David Harrington, Idaho State

ST - Nevin Lewis, Portland State

RS - Jabin Sambrano, Montana