Minnesota's Reeve takes home WNBA Coach of the Year honors

Minnesota's Cheryl Reeve has been named the 2011 WNBA Coach of the Year.

Reeve received 36 out of the 40 votes for the honor from a national panel of sportswriters and broadcasters. Seattle's Brian Agler, last year's winner, picked up two votes, while Indiana's Lin Dunn and Connecticut's Mike Thibault each earned one.

The only other Minnesota winner was Suzie McConnell Serio in 2004.

Reeve led the Lynx to a 27-7 record, the best in the league, and the top seed in the Western Conference in just her second year at the helm.

Minnesota's best regular season in the team's 13-year history included a 14- game improvement over last year's record. The Lynx also set team records in total victories (27), home wins (14) and double-digit victories (17).

The Lynx's Maya Moore also received honors on Friday, selected as the league's Rookie of the Year.