Denver linebacker Von Miller and Carolina quarterback Cam Newton were named the defensive and offensive Rookies of the Year, respectively, for the 2011 season.

The voting, as conducted by the Associated Press, saw Miller receive 39 of 50 total votes. San Francisco linebacker Aldon Smith obtained the other 11 votes.

Miller becomes the second Denver player to win a Defensive Rookie of the Year award, joining linebacker Mike Croel (1991). Miller, the second overall pick of the draft out of Texas A&M, had 64 tackles and 11 1/2 sacks during the season. He played the final four games with a cast to protect his surgically repaired right thumb.

Newton, the top overall draft selection, threw for 4,051 yards and 21 touchdowns against 17 interceptions. He became the first QB in league history to pass for over 4,000 yards and rush for over 500 in the same season. Newton ran for 706 yards while breaking Steve Grogan's 35-year-old NFL record for rushing touchdowns in a season by a quarterback with 14.

Newton received 47 votes to run away with the honor, placing well ahead of Cincinnati quarterback Andy Dalton, who got the other three votes. He's the first Panther to capture the honor. Defensive end Julius Peppers was named AP Defensive Rookie of the Year in 2002.