Michigan's Burke named Robertson Trophy winner

Michigan sophomore guard Trey Burke has been selected as the winner of the Oscar Robertson Trophy, presented annually to the national player of the year by the United States Basketball Writers Association.

Burke is the second Michigan player chosen for the honor, joining Cazzie Russell in 1966. He also joins a select group of sophomores to win the award, following UCLA's Lew Alcindor (1967), UCLA's Bill Walton (1972), DePaul's Mark Aguirre (1980), Virginia's Ralph Sampson (1981), Purdue's Glenn Robinson (1994), Duke's Elton Brand (1999), Utah's Andrew Bogut (2005) and Oklahoma's Blake Griffin (2009).

The Big Ten Player of the Year has led Michigan to its first Final Four since 1993. He has started all 37 games for the Wolverines, and leads the team with averages of 18.8 points and 6.8 assists, while adding 3.1 rebounds.

Last year's winner was Kentucky freshman Anthony Davis.