Lake Buena Vista, FL (SportsNetwork.com) - Oregon's Marcus Mariota has captured the 2014 Davey O'Brien Award, given to the nation's top quarterback.

Mariota, a redshirt junior, is the most prolific quarterback in Oregon history and has led the Ducks to 35 wins in his three seasons as the starter. He has passed for 3,783 yards and 38 touchdowns this season with 669 yards rushing and another 14 scores.

Mariota joins UCLA's Troy Aikman as the only Pac-12 quarterbacks to win the award.

If history is any indication, the O'Brien Award winner has gone on to win the Heisman Trophy in four straight seasons, including seven of the last eight.

Other finalists for the honor were Mississippi State's Dak Prescott and TCU's Trevone Boykin.

Prescott has thrown for 2,996 yards with 24 touchdowns and 10 interceptions for a Mississippi State team that was ranked No. 1 during the season. He also ran for 939 yards with 13 scores.

Boykin has completed 60.5 percent of his passes for 3,714 yards with 30 touchdowns and seven interceptions. He also ran for 642 yards with eight scores.