Manning and Brees named starting Pro Bowl quarterbacks

NEWYou can now listen to Fox News articles!

By Simon Evans

MIAMI (Reuters) - Peyton Manning and Drew Brees were on Tuesday named as the starting quarterbacks for the NFL's Pro Bowl game following voting by fans, coaches and players.

The Minnesota Vikings have the most members of the NFC squad with eight players, including quarterback Brett Favre and starting running back Adrian Peterson.

Mannings' Indianapolis Colts with six players, five of them starters, are the top represented team in the AFC.

New Orleans quarterback Brees is ranked top in the NFL for passing this year.

Defending Super Bowl champions, the Pittsburgh Steelers have just two players selected while center Shaun O'Hara is the only member of the New York Giants to be voted on to a team.

There is no place for New England Patriots wide receiver Randy Moss although his team-mate Tom Brady is named among the non-starting quarterbacks.

In a break with tradition, the NFL's All-Star game will take place in Miami and on January 31, the week before the Super Bowl which is also in the South Florida city.

No players involved in the Super Bowl will play in the Pro Bowl which is being held out side of Hawaii for the first time since 1979.

(Editing by Julian Linden)