Len Dawson will enter the Pro Football Hall of Fame for a second time, honored Thursday as the Pete Rozelle Radio-Television Award winner.

Dawson, a Hall of Fame inductee in 1987 as a quarterback, joins a number of former players to receive the award, which recognizes "long-time exceptional contributions to radio and television in professional football."

Other former players previously honored with the award include Pat Summerall, Frank Gifford, Don Meredith and Dan Dierdorf.

"This is an unbelievable award for me," said Dawson in a statement Thursday. "To be in the Hall of Fame as a player was the highlight of my playing career, but now to be recognized by the Hall of Fame as a broadcaster, well, it's just a great, great honor."

Dawson was the American Football League's top player in 1962 during a 19-year career that spanned 1957-75. He spent three seasons with the Pittsburgh Steelers and two with the Cleveland Browns before playing the remainder of his career with the Dallas Texans/Kansas City Chiefs. He helped Kansas City to the Super Bowl twice, winning a title and Super Bowl MVP after the 1969 season.

While still playing, Dawson began his broadcasting career in 1966 as a sports anchor with KMBC radio and television, then joined NBC as an NFL analyst from 1976-82. He then became the Chiefs' radio network analyst in 1982 and continues to hold that position.

In addition, Dawson was the host of the popular HBO cable series "Inside the NFL" from 1977-2001.

Dawson will receive the Rozelle Award during the Enshrinees Dinner on August 3, two days before the induction of the Hall of Fame class that consists of Jack Butler, Dermontti Dawson, Chris Doleman, Cortez Kennedy, Curtis Martin and Willie Roaf.