Philadelphia Flyers forward Ian Laperriere won the NHL's Masterton Trophy for his perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey following a likely career-ending injury in 2010.

Laperriere topped fellow finalists Calgary's Daymond Langkow and Anaheim's Ray Emery during the NHL Awards ceremony.

Laperriere blocked a shot with his face during last year's playoffs, suffering a concussion and fractured orbital bone. He has said he wants to play again but doctors don't believe he should.

Emery went through bone-graft surgery last April. More than a year after a puck hit his spine and fractured a vertebra, Langkow returned to play on April 1.