Five FCS teams banned from postseason

Indianapolis, IN ( - Five FCS programs received postseason bans for the 2015 season under NCAA Division I Academic Progress Rate penalties announced Wednesday

The bans, based on four-year APR data, were lobbied against Florida A&M and Savannah State from the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference, Alabama State from the Southwestern Athletic Conference, Gardner-Webb from the Big South Conference and Tennessee State from the Ohio Valley Conference.

The teams also faced a reduction in practice time in-season.

APR scores, which the NCAA has calculated for the last 11 years, measure the classroom performance of a team over a four-year period. The new scores reflect the 2010-11 through 2013-14 school years.

A perfect score is 1,000. The penalized institutions fell below a score of 930.