Facts and figures of the 97th Indianapolis 500

Facts and figures of the 97th Indianapolis 500-mile race Sunday at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway:

EVENT — The 97th Indianapolis 500.

DISTANCE — 500 miles; 200 laps around the asphalt-on-brick Indianapolis Motor Speedway track, a 2.5-mile rectangular oval.


RACE CARS — Open-cockpit, open-wheel and single-seat, with 2.2-liter, 550-700 horsepower turbocharged V-6 engines.


CHASSIS — All cars use Dallaras.

PACE CAR — 2014 Chevrolet Corvette Stingray driven by Jim Harbaugh, the San Francisco 49ers coach and former Colts quarterback.

START — Noon EDT from a flying start, following warm-up, parade and pace laps.

FINISH — Standings are unofficial until posted by the IndyCar Series.

NUMBER OF STARTERS — 33 cars; three abreast in each of 11 rows.

POLE POSITION — Ed Carpenter, the Indianapolis native and stepson of IndyCar founder Tony George won Indy's pole with a four-lap qualifying average of 228.762 mph. He will be the first member of the track-owning family to start from the inside of the front row.

SLOWEST QUALIFIER — Katherine Legge, who averaged 223.176. Will start 33rd, the outside of the 11th row.

FASTEST ROOKIE — Carlos Munoz, 228.342 mph. Will start second, the middle of the front row — the first rookie on the front row since Juan Pablo Montoya in 2000.

2012 WINNER — Dario Franchitti, who averaged 167.734 mph for his third win at Indianapolis.

FORMER WINNERS IN RACE (4) — Helio Castroneves (2001, 2002, 2009), Dario Franchitti (2007, 2010 and 2012), Scott Dixon (2008), Buddy Lazier (1996).

ROOKIES IN RACE (4) — Carlos Munoz, AJ Allmendinger, Tristan Vautier and Conor Daly.

YOUNGEST IN RACE — Carlos Munoz (Born Feb. 2, 1992)

OLDEST IN RACE — Buddy Lazier, 45 (Oct. 31, 1967)

MOST PREVIOUS RACES — Buddy Lazier (16).

FOREIGN BORN (22) — Ana Beatriz, Brazil; Sebastien Bourdais, France; Ryan Briscoe, Australia; Helio Castroneves, Brazil; Scott Dixon, New Zealand; Dario Franchitti, Scotland; James Hinchcliffe, Canada; James Jakes, England; Tony Kanaan, Brazil; Katherine Legge, England; Pippa Mann, England; Carlos Munoz, Colombia; Simon Pagenaud, France; Will Power, Australia; Sebastian Saavedra, Colombia; Takuma Sato, Japan; Oriol Servia, Spain; Simona De Silvestro, Switzerland; Alex Tagliani, Canada; Tristan Vautier, France; E.J. Viso, Venezuela; Justin Wilson, England.

FIELD AVERAGE IN QUALIFICATIONS — 226.176 mph (Record 228.648 mph, 2002)

QUALIFICATION RECORD — 236.986 mph, Arie Luyendyk, 1996.

RACE RECORD — 185.981 mph, Arie Luyendyk, 1990.

CLOSEST FINISHES — 0.043 seconds, Al Unser Jr. over Scott Goodyear, 1992; 0.0635 seconds, Sam Hornish Jr. over Marco Andretti, 2006.

PURSE — Depends on attendance and accessory awards; 2012 payoff was $13.28 million, of which winner Dario Franchitti received $2.47 million for Bryan Herta Autosport.

CROWD — Estimated at up to 400,000. Speedway never discloses attendance but admits to more than 250,000 reserved seats in permanent stands and room for 100,000 or more in the infield.

TELEVISION — Televised live and in high definition by ESPN on ABC starting at 11 a.m. EDT, one hour before the race, with host Lindsay Czarniak, the first woman to serve as host, lead announcer Marty Reid, analysts Eddie Cheever and Scott Goodyear, and pit reporters Rick DeBruhl, Jamie Little, Jerry Punch and Vince Welch.

RADIO — More than 350 affiliate IMS Radio Network stations throughout the United States and Canada, plus Sirius XM 211, the Verizon IndyCar13 app, LeSea Broadcasting on shortwave radio worldwide, American Forces Radio Network, shortwave radio worldwide and the Internet, with Indianapolis Motor Speedway Radio Network anchor Mike King, driver analyst Davey Hamilton, IMS historian Donald Davidson, Jerry Baker and Paul Page in the booth; Jake Query, Mark Jaynes and Chris Denari in the turns; Nick Yeoman, Michael Young and Dave Furst in the pits and Dave Wilson in the garage and medical center.

MORTALITY — There have been 68 deaths at the Speedway, including pre-500 races of 1909-10. Last death was Aug. 30, 2010, when motorcycle rider Peter Lenz of Vancouver, Wash., was killed in a preliminary race to the Indianapolis MotoGP.

THE TROPHY — Sterling silver Borg-Warner Trophy, 5-feet, 4 3/4-inches, 110-pounds, with bas-relief bust of each winner. Valued at more than $1 million, on permanent display at Speedway Hall of Fame Museum. Each winner receives an 18-inch sterling silver replica.