The next five members of the NASCAR Hall of Fame will be selected this afternoon from a group of 25 nominees.

A panel of 54 journalists, former racers, track operators and industry veterans will debate who among the NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2014 nominees should join those already enshrined.

SPEED will provide live coverage of the announcement of the next five starting at 6 p.m. ET from the Charlotte facility. The voting panel has lunch at noon, with the debate and discussion set to begin at 1 p.m. As in years past, it’s expected to be a spirited discussion.

With all the obvious names already in — Bill France Sr. and Jr., Richard Petty, Dale Earnhardt, David Pearson and others — the 2014 class becomes a little tougher to predict.

Last year, Fireball Roberts lost the final spot on a tiebreaker vote and therefore logically would be a likely choice. Beyond Roberts, though, the field is wide open.

Following are the 25 NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2014 nominees:

• Red Byron: First NASCAR champion (1948 Modified Division) and first NASCAR premier series champion (1949).

• Richard Childress: Eleven national series owner championships and first owner to win titles in all three national series.

• Jerry Cook: Six-time NASCAR Modified champion with four of them coming in consecutive years (1974-1977).

• H. Clay Earles: Opened Martinsville Speedway in 1947, which is the only track to host NASCAR premier series races every year.

• Tim Flock: Two-time NASCAR premier series champion (1952, 1955) with 39 career wins, putting him 18th on the all-time wins list.

• Ray Fox: Named 1956 Mechanic of the Year and built the cars that won the 1960 Daytona 500 and the 1964 Southern 500.

• Anne B. France: Matriarch of the sport who served as secretary and treasurer of NASCAR and ISC.

• Rick Hendrick: Ten premier series titles, 13 national series titles, which are both NASCAR records.

• Jack Ingram: Two NASCAR Nationwide championships (1982, 1985) and three consecutive Late Model Sportsman titles (1972-1974).

• Bobby Isaac: Won the 1970 premier series championship and holds the single-season pole record with 19 (1969).

• Dale Jarrett: Won the 1999 premier series championship and the Daytona 500 three times (1993, 1996, 2000).

• Fred Lorenzen: Won the Daytona 500 and World 600 in 1965 and won five consecutive starts in 1964.

• Raymond Parks: First NASCAR premier series champion owner who began his career in 1938 with driver Lloyd Seay.

• Benny Parsons: 1973 NASCAR premier series champion and 1975 Daytona 500 winner.

• Maurice Petty: Built engines that propelled Richard Petty to seven NASCAR premier series championship and close to 200 wins.

• Larry Phillips: Only five-time NASCAR Weekly Series champion; won 13 NASCAR track championships in three states.

• Les Richter: Held roles as NASCAR executive vice president of competition and senior vice president of operations and president and general manager of Riverside International Raceway.

• Fireball Roberts: His 33 wins ranks him 20th on the all-time wins list; won the Southern 500 twice (1958, 1963) and the 1962 Daytona 500.

• T. Wayne Robertson: Senior vice president at R.J. Reynolds and president of their Sports Marketing Enterprises division who oversaw the creation of the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race.

• Wendell Scott: First African-American to win a NASCAR premier series race in 1963 and the 1959 NASCAR Sportsman Division Virginia champion.

• Ralph Seagraves: Helped put NASCAR in the national spotlight through Winston sponsorship, including sponsorship of the developmental series.

• Bruton Smith: Chairman and CEO of Speedway Motorsports Inc., which owns and operates eight tracks that host NASCAR Sprint Cup events.

• Curtis Turner: 1956 Southern 500 winner who won 38 of the 79 races he entered in the NASCAR Convertible Division.

• Joe Weatherly: Two-time NASCAR premier series champion who won 101 modified races and the championship from 1952-1953.

• Rex White: 1960 NASCAR premier series champion whose 28 wins place him 22nd on the all-time wins list.

(The NASCAR Wire Service contributed to this report.)

Tom Jensen is the Editor in Chief of SPEED.com, Senior NASCAR Editor at RACER and a contributing Editor for TruckSeries.com. You can follow him online at twitter.com/tomjensen100.