The National Basketball Players Association announced Wednesday that Chris Paul of the Los Angeles Clippers has been elected as the new president.

Paul, who was an NBPA vice president for the last four years, was elected during the union's summer meeting in Las Vegas. He will replace Derek Fisher, whose tenure expired this summer.

The 28-year-old point guard averaged 16.9 points, 9.7 assists and 2.4 steals in 70 games with the Clippers last season. He signed with Los Angeles to a five-year, $107.3 million deal on July 10.

A six-time All-Star and three-time All-NBA First Team selection, Paul gives the NBPA its first big-named president since Patrick Ewing, who served from 1997-2001.

Other candidates considered were LeBron James, who contemplated running but ultimately decided not to, and free agent Roger Mason Jr., who was elected first vice president. He replaces Jerry Stackhouse, who resigned from the office but is expected to take a position within the union.

In addition, Anthony Tolliver and Steve Blake were elected as vice presidents to fill in the committee positions vacated by Paul and Mason.

With Paul at the helm, the union will be looking to achieve stability and direction following February's ousting of Billy Hunter, the union's longtime executive director whose business practices had been questioned by the union.

The NBPA has hired a search firm to help hire a new executive director.