American League Triple Crown winner Miguel Cabrera and San Francisco Giants catcher Buster Posey were among Thursday's recipients of the 2012 Silver Slugger Awards honoring Major League Baseball's top offensive performers at each position.

Cabrera was named the AL's honoree at third base after becoming the first player since 1967 to capture the Triple Crown, which represents leading a league in home runs, runs batted in and batting average. The Detroit Tigers star hit .330 while setting career bests with 44 homers and 139 RBI.

It's the fourth Silver Slugger distinction for Cabrera, who took home the award as the AL's first baseman in 2010 and twice while a member of the National League's Florida Marlins. The 29-year-old's first came as an outfielder in 2005, and he was named as a third baseman the following year.

Posey, considered the favorite to claim the NL's Most Valuable Player award after batting a league-best .336 with 24 homers and 103 RBI for the eventual World Series champion Giants, was selected as a Silver Slugger for the first time.

The standout catcher was joined on the NL squad by Arizona second baseman Aaron Hill, San Diego third baseman Chase Headley and three Washington Nationals -- first baseman Adam LaRoche, shortstop Ian Desmond and pitcher Stephen Strasburg. Milwaukee's Ryan Braun, Cincinnati's Jay Bruce and Pittsburgh's Andrew McCutchen comprise the outfield

Braun, the 2011 NL MVP and a finalist this year as well, was chosen for a fifth straight season after topping the senior circuit with 41 homers to along with 112 RBI and a .319 average.

Hill is the only other member of the NL group to be a previous winner, having been named an AL Silver Slugger while with Toronto in 2009.

Cabrera was one of two Tigers to receive the award this year, with first baseman Prince Fielder also representing the 2012 AL champions. A pair of New York Yankees, second baseman Robinson Cano and shortstop Derek Jeter, were also chosen as recipients.

Fielder was twice an NL Silver Slugger (2007, 2011) during his previous tenure with the Brewers, while Cano garnered his third consecutive selection and fourth overall (2006 as well).

Jeter was tabbed for the first time since 2009, the last of a four-year run of Silver Sluggers for the Yankee captain.

Chicago White Sox catcher A.J. Pierzynski and Kansas City designated hitter Billy Butler round out the AL designees along with the outfield trio of Los Angeles of Anaheim rookie Mike Trout, Texas' Josh Hamilton and Minnesota's Josh Willingham.

Hamilton is now a three-time winner, having also been selected after the 2008 and 2010 seasons.