The best and brightest of the NHL will be on display Wednesday night at the Palms Casino and Resort during the 2011 NHL Awards show (7 p.m. ET., Versus, CBC).

The event will celebrate the best performances of the 2010-11 season, and expect the Stanley Cup champion Boston Bruins to be well-represented during the show. Who will win some of the NHL's most coveted awards? Let's take a look and make some educated guesses.


Finalists: Corey Perry, Ducks; Daniel Sedin, Canucks; Martin St. Louis, Lightning

This should be a pretty close vote between Sedin, the Art Ross winner, and Perry, the Rocket Richard winner. Will Perry's late-season surge be enough to overtake Sedin, who could make it two MVPs in a row for the family after twin brother Henrik won last season? WINNER: Corey Perry

VEZINA TROPHY (Best goaltender)

Finalists: Roberto Luongo, Canucks; Pekka Rinne, Predators; Tim Thomas, Bruins

Thomas had one rough stretch (by his season's standard) but closed strong and produced the highest save percentage in League history. This is an easy one. WINNER: Tim Thomas


Finalists: Zdeno Chara, Bruins; Nicklas Lidstrom, Red Wings; Shea Weber, Predators

This trio includes a legendary past winner (Lidstrom, six times), a recent recipient (Chara, in 2009) and a likely future winner (Weber). Lidstrom finished in the top five in goals and points for a defenseman, and will be a deserving winner for the seventh time, which would tie Doug Harvey for the second-most ever. WINNER: Nicklas Lidstrom

JACK ADAMS AWARD (Coach of the year)

Finalists: Dan Bylsma, Penguins; Barry Trotz, Predators; Alain Vigneault, Canucks

Vigneault steered a team with great expectations not only to the top of the League standings but a historically great campaign in which it led the NHL in both goals scored and goals allowed -- the first time that's been done since 1978. Trotz again led the Predators to the playoffs with one of the lowest payrolls in the League. Both were great, and several others could have been nominated, but what Bylsma did this season in leading Pittsburgh to a 106-point season without Jordan Staal for the first half of the season and Sidney Crosby and Evgeni Malkin in the second half was remarkable. WINNER: Dan Bylsma

CALDER MEMORIAL TROPHY (Rookie of the year)

Finalists: Logan Couture, Sharks; Michael Grabner, Islanders; Jeff Skinner, Hurricanes

Another award where the voting could be very close -- Skinner was a media darling at the 2011 All-Star Game and led all first-year players in scoring as an 18-year-old, while Couture was arguably San Jose's MVP, leading the Sharks in goals for much of the season. Grabner, who led all rookies with 34 goals, was one of about four candidates for the third finalist slot. WINNER: Jeff Skinner

FRANK J. SELKE TROPHY (Best defensive forward)

Finalists: Pavel Datsyuk, Red Wings; Ryan Kesler, Canucks; Jonathan Toews, Blackhawks

Datsyuk has won this award three years in a row, but he missed 26 games so the door could be open for Kesler or Toews. This is the third straight year for Kesler as a finalist, and his improved offensive numbers might help him in the voting. WINNER: Ryan Kesler

LADY BYNG MEMORIAL TROPHY (Skillful and gentlemanly play)

Finalists: Loui Eriksson, Stars; Nicklas Lidstrom, Red Wings; Martin St. Louis, Lightning

St. Louis dethroned four-time champion Datsyuk in 2010 and had another strong season. A defenseman hasn't won since Red Kelly in 1954, but Lidstrom is a great ambassador for the sport and a worthy candidate. WINNER: Martin St. Louis