Outfielders Bernie Williams and Ruben Sierra time candidates on the 2012 Baseball Hall of Fame ballot released Wednesday.

They join holdovers Jack Morris and Barry Larkin, the only other players named on at least half the ballots last year, when second baseman Roberto Alomar and starting pitcher Bert Blyleven were chosen for induction.

Williams and Sierra are joined by starting pitchers Terry Mulholland and Brad Radke; outfielders Tim Salmon, Jeromy Burnitz and Brian Jordan; second basemen Tony Womack, Bill Mueller and Eric Young; third baseman Vinny Castilla; catcher Javy Lopez and infielder-catcher Phil Nevin.

Others returning to the ballot include first basemen Don Mattingly, Fred McGriff and Mark McGwire; outfielders Dale Murphy and Tim Raines; shortstop Alan Trammell; third baseman-designated hitter Edgar Martinez; and starting pitcher and relief pitcher Lee Smith.

Players may stay on the ballot for up to 15 years provided they receive five percent of the vote each year.

Of the first-year candidates from last year who received sufficient support to remain were first basemen Jeff Bagwell and Rafael Palmeiro, and outfielders Larry Walker and Juan Gonzalez.

Candidates must be named on 75 percent of the ballots cast by members of the Baseball Writers' Association of America with 10 or more consecutive years' experience to gain entry into the National Baseball Hall of Fame.

Results from the balloting will be announced January 9, 2012.