Southern California quarterback Matt Barkley and Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o are among 15 finalists for the William V. Campbell Trophy, given to the top scholar-athlete in college football.

The finalists are chosen by the National Football Foundation from all levels of college football and each receives an $18,000 in post-graduate scholarship. The winner will receive an additional $7,000 scholarship.

The Campbell Trophy will be awarded Dec. 4 at the NFF's Hall of Fame banquet in New York.

Last year's winner was Army linebacker Andrew Rodriguez.

The other finalists announced Wednesday are:

Alabama center Barrett Jones

Nebraska running back Rex Burkhead

Texas tech safety Cody Davis

Mount Union safety Nick Driskill

Baylor quarterback Nick Florence

Northern Illinois defensive tackle Nabal Jefferson

West Texas A&M offensive lineman Aaron Mullane

Syracuse quarterback Ryan Nassib

Robert Morris defensive end Nolan Nearhoof

MIT offensive lineman Ethan Peterson

Duke quarterback Sean Renfree

Northwestern offensive lineman Patrick Ward

Saint Xavier (Ill.) receiver Shane Zackery.