Potter, Johnson advance to US Women's Mid-Amateur final

NEWYou can now listen to Fox News articles!

Stroke-play medalists Julia Potter and Shannon Johnson each won two matches Wednesday at The Kahkwa Club to advance the U.S. Women's Mid-Amateur final.

Potter, a 28-year-old reinstated amateur from Indianapolis, won the 2013 event for players 25 and older and finished second in 2014.

"All I'm trying to do is enjoy the moment," Potter said. "I know how hard it is to get back here, and take that in and hopefully take that momentum into tomorrow, as well."

The left-hander beat Katie Miller of Jeannette, Pennsylvania in 21 holes in the quarterfinals, and topped 51-year-old Patricia Schremmer of Honolulu 4 and 3 in the semifinals.

The 33-year-old Johnson, from Norton, Massachusetts, beat 2014 champion Margaret Shirley-Starosto of Woodstock, Georgia, 6 and 5 in the quarterfinals, and edged Olivia Herrick of Roseville, Minnesota, 1 up in the semifinals.

Potter finished off Schremmer with par wins on 13, 14 and 15.

Johnson overcame a two-hole deficit against Herrick with par wins on 11 and 12, took the lead with a par on 17 and won with a par halve on 18. They each had only one birdie, for a halve on the par-4 14th.

"At some point I knew I was going to get down coming into match play," Johnson said. "I like this back side and knew that there was some holes coming up that I could definitely win if I made par, so that was kind of my mindset when I made the turn."

Potter played at the University of Missouri and is the director of marketing for the Indiana Golf Office. Johnson is a former Indiana University player who works as a sales representative for Ping golf equipment. She has won 12 South Dakota Golf Association titles.

Potter and Johnson are the first two top seeds to meet in the final in the history of the event. The winner will become the fifth medalist to win, following, Carol Semple Thompson (1990), Ellen Port (2000), Potter (2013) and Shirley-Starosto (2014).

Potter is in position to become the fifth multiple champion, joining Sarah LeBrun Ingram (1991, 1993, 1994), Port (1995, 1996, 2000, 2011), Meghan Stasi (2006, 2007, 2010, 2012) and Thompson (1990, 1997). She already is only female left-handed champion in USGA history.