Peters wins Iowa truck race, widens points lead

Timothy Peters increased his points lead in the Camping World Truck Series by winning Saturday night's American Ethanol 200 at Iowa Speedway.

Peters, the pole sitter, grabbed the lead from Ron Hornaday Jr. after the final restart with 10 laps remaining and then held off Hornaday at the finish by 1.6 seconds for his fourth career Truck Series win but his first since July 2011 at Lucas Oil Raceway in Indianapolis (20 races ago).

With the win, Peters padded his lead from four points to 12 over Justin Lofton, who finished fifth.

"This is just an awesome place to come," Peters said. "I love Iowa, and I love going to places where our results were okay and turning them into the best finish. Today was definitely a milestone in my career, because I never sat on the pole and led the amount of laps like I did tonight to win the race."

Peters ran in front four times for a total of 87 laps around this 0.875-mile racetrack. He became the eighth different winner in nine races this season.

James Buescher dominated most of the race by leading 91 of 134 laps, but Buescher blew his right-front tire and slammed into the wall while running in the top position. He ended up finishing 30th.

"Tough one to swallow...Had the truck to beat, just have to go on to the next one," Buescher tweeted after the race.

Buescher became the first repeat race winner in trucks this season two weeks ago at Kentucky.

Peters reassumed the lead after Buescher crashed, but following a restart on lap 169, Hornaday charged from third and passed Johnny Sauter and Peters to take the top spot for the first time. An accident involving Cale Gale and Dakoda Armstrong setup the 10-lap sprint to the finish.

"We didn't have the truck to beat them, but once we were in front, we were pretty good," said Hornaday, who led 22 laps. "I was saving fuel. I didn't get enough fuel in the thing (during the last pit stop). I didn't get a chance to clean my tires up, and I spun them pretty bad. So (Peters) got me on the last (restart)."

Matt Crafton, who won this race one year ago, finished third, while Sauter placed fourth.

Jason Leffler, rookie Ty Dillon, Joey Coulter, Nelson Piquet Jr. and Parker Kligerman completed the top-10. Dillon bounced back from a two-lap deficit early in the race. He is now 14 points behind Peters.

Buescher fell 40 points out of the lead.