Browne declared winner of Gwinnett Championship

Duluth, GA ( - As expected, there was plenty of overnight rain at TPC Sugarloaf and more fell Sunday, which forced the cancellation of the final round of the Greater Gwinnett Championship.

Overnight leader Olin Browne was declared the winner. He fired a course-record 64 in Saturday's second round to grab a one-shot lead over Bernhard Langer.

Browne's 36-hole score of 12-under-par 132 was also a new tournament record. Miguel Angel Jimenez had set the old records of 65 and 135 last year, which was the second year of the tournament.

"It was a really trying week for everybody here this week. I think the staff here, the volunteers, the grounds crew, everybody did an incredible job getting the course prepped and ready for play, and it's such a downer for them to have the weather kind of throw this wet blanket on things," said Browne.

"I really feel badly for the tournament. But I think in all honesty, we all kind of knew this was coming and I think it's miraculous we got in 36 holes."

Rocco Mediate ended alone in third place at minus-9, while Stephen Ames, Mark O'Meara, Jesper Parnevik and Tom Pernice, Jr. shared fourth place at 7-under- par 137.

The first and second rounds were both completed on Saturday. Rain also fell on Friday, on an already saturated course, and forced the suspension of play after just one group managed to complete their opening rounds.

Browne, the 2011 U.S. Senior Open winner, birdied three of five holes from the second. After five consecutive pars from the seventh, Browne flew into the lead. He birdied five of the last seven holes to post 12-under.

Langer had an outside chance to catch him. The German had five birdies through 13 holes to move to minus-8. Langer parred three in a row before making birdie at 17 and eagle at 18 to grab second place.

NOTES: Browne collected $270,000 for the win ... The last weather-shortened event on the Champions Tour was the 2011 Insperity Championship ... The tour heads to Missouri next week for the Bass Pro Shops Legends of Golf, where Fred Funk and Jeff Sluman won the title last year.