TCU QB Boykin hopes 2nd time is a charm to make O'Brien history

For the second time in two years, quarterback Trevone Boykin is hopeful he'll become the first TCU quarterback to win the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback award, named in honor of the Horned Frogs' only Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback.

Boykin was runner-up in 2014 to eventual Heisman Trophy winner Marcus Mariota of Oregon. Boykin's competition this time includes Oklahoma's Baker Mayfield and Clemson's Deshaun Watson.

The TCU senior had another outstanding season, although a wrist injury forced him out of the 30-29 loss at Oklahoma, which eliminated the Horned Frogs from Big 12 title contention.

More from FoxSports

The winner will be honored in a ceremony on Feb. 15 at the Fort Worth Club. Boykin said he feels a special bond to the former Horned Frogs QB, who won the Heisman in 1938.

"It's always something extra, him being a guy from TCU and me being blessed to play his position," Boykin told the Fort Worth Star-Telegram on Wednesday from Atlanta, where the winners for some of college football's most prestigious awards will be announced tonight's ceremony. "To even be nominated for this award is an honor. It feels great to be invited back. To win it would mean a lot to me, my family and the school."