Dong-Hwan Lee earns medalist honors at Q-School

Dong-Hwan Lee closed with a 5-under 67 on Monday to earn medalist honors at the PGA Tour Qualifying School.

Lee finished at 25-under-par 407 and became the first international player to win Q School since England's Brian Davis won in 2004.

Ross Fisher, a 4-time winner on the European Tour, fired a 6-under 66 to share second place at minus-24 with Steve LeBrun (69).

Billy Horschel and Richard H. Lee both shot 68 in the final round to end at 23-under-par 409. They were joined there by Kris Blanks (71).

Two-time heart transplant recipient Erik Compton closed with back-to-back 67s to grab a share of seventh at minus-22. He ended alongside Brad Fritsch (68) and Jin Park (70). Fritsch already had his card for next year thanks to finishing in the top 25 on the Tour money list.

Steven Bowditch led entering the final round, but closed with a 74 to share 10th at 21-under 411. He was joined there by Jeff Gove (67), Michael Letzig (67) and Fabian Gomez (66).

Twenty-six players received their PGA Tour cards for 2013. Players split their six rounds on the Stadium Course and the Nicklaus Tournament Course at PGA West, with the leaders playing the Stadium Course on Monday.

Robert Karlsson, an 11-time winner on the European Tour shot 70 to share 14th at minus-20 with Matt Jones (70) and Eric Meierdierks (72).

Aaron Watkins (69), Scott Langley (68) and Derek Ernst (74) tied for 17th at 19-under 413. Tag Ridings (69) and Si Woo Kim (68) were one stroke back at minus-18. Kim won't turn 18 until the end of June, therefore he won't be a tour member until that date.

The final PGA Tour cards went to Chez Reavie (70), Henrik Norlander (67), Bobby Gates (67), Patrick Reed (67) and Donald Constable (69), who shared 22nd place at 17-under 415.

Dong-hwan Lee had bogeys on the first and sixth on the Stadium Course, but in between he poured in three straight birdies from the third. Around the turn, he traded a birdie at 10 for a bogey at the 12th, then flew into the top spot on the leaderboard with four birdies in the last five holes.

Among those that failed to get their PGA Tour card, but will be on the Tour in 2013 were 2008 U.S. Amateur champ Danny Lee, Mark Anderson, 3-time PGA Tour winner Camilo Villegas, Meen Whee Kim, Edward Loar and 2011 Q-School medalist Brendon Todd.

Kim led after the second and third round, but went 4-over par over the final three rounds. Loar was inside the number with two holes to go, but double- bogeyed the 17th and bogeyed the 18th to miss out.

This was the final Q-School under this format. Starting next year, Q-School will only get player status on the Tour.

NOTES: Ernst, Si Woo Kim, Constable and Norlander made it through all three stages to earn their tour cards ... Steve Flesch withdrew after Sunday's round, while Rafael Cabrera-Bello withdrew after one hole on Monday.