San Diego earns share of Pioneer title

The University of San Diego beat Marist College, 34-10, on Saturday to grab a three-way share of the Pioneer Football League championship.

San Diego shared the title with Butler and Drake. All three teams finished with 8-3 overall and 7-1 league records.

The Toreros have won five titles since the PFL formed for the 1993 season.

San Diego quarterback Mason Mills completed 23-of-34 passes for 422 yards and two touchdowns. Reggie Bell caught the two touchdowns in the second quarter and finished with seven receptions for 143 yards.

Joe Ferguson rushed for 91 yards and a touchdown on 15 carries. Blake Oliaro had four of San Diego's seven sacks and the Toreros had two interceptions.

Marist's Michael Rios caught 10 passes for 205 yards, including the Red Foxes' only touchdown. He set the program's single-season record for receiving yards (1,173) and career record for touchdown receptions (17).

San Diego finished the season with six straight wins, all in the PFL. The Toreros have won all eight all-time meetings against Marist.

The game was rescheduled from Nov. 3. It was postponed due to the after- effects of Hurricane Sandy.