Trucks move around in 2014

The 2014 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series schedule stays at 22 races, but with a couple of significant changes: The trucks will return to Gateway Motorsports Park and New Hampshire Motor Speedway, but will not be back at Rockingham Speedway and will have only one event at Iowa Speedway instead of two.

Gateway, a 1.25-mile oval in Madison, Ill., near St. Louis, hosted truck series races from 1998-2010. The facility is now owned by St. Louis-native Curtis Francois, who NASCAR officials described in a release as "a former racer with significant ties to the local community."

"We're excited to have the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series return to Gateway and to the St. Louis area, which is such a racing hotbed," said Steve O'Donnell, NASCAR senior vice president of racing operations. "Curtis Francois and his staff have worked diligently to bring NASCAR national series racing back to those great fans."

Similarly, NHMS is back on the schedule for the first time since 2011.

"I always loved going there," said Matt Crafton the Truck Series points leader. "It was disappointing that we didn't go there this year, but I don't know what they did to get it back on the schedule. Like I said, I really like going there. It's always been one of my favorite race tracks. I like the mile, the flat stuff because I always say it puts more of the driver back in the seat."

Next season's 22-race schedule also includes returns to two tracks that debuted in 2013 - Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio and Canadian Tire Motorsport Park in Bowmanville, Ontario. The entire 2014 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series season can be seen on FOX Sports 1.

Next season's schedule also features one date shift, with the series racing at Kansas Speedway on May 9, the first night race for the series at the 1.5-mile venue.

Unfortunately, Rockingham was the big casualty on the schedule after hosting the trucks each of the last two seasons.


Date Site

Feb. 21 Daytona International Speedway

March 29 Martinsville Speedway

May 9 Kansas Speedway

May 16 Charlotte Motor Speedway

May 30 Dover International Speedway

June 6 Texas Motor Speedway

June 14 Gateway Motorsports Park

June 26 Kentucky Speedway

July 12 Iowa Speedway

July 23 Eldora Speedway

Aug. 2 Pocono Raceway

Aug.16 Michigan International Speedway

Aug. 20 Bristol Motor Speedway

Aug. 31 Canadian Tire Motorsport Park

Sept. 12 Chicagoland Speedway

Sept. 20 New Hampshire Motor Speedway

Sept. 27 Las Vegas Motor Speedway

Oct. 18 Talladega Superspeedway

Oct. 25 Martinsville Speedway

Oct. 31 Texas Motor Speedway

Nov. 7 Phoenix International Raceway

Nov. 14 Homestead-Miami Speedway

The original article can be found at Trucks move around in 2014.