Formula E championship rivals crash in first turn in finale

Coming into Sunday's Formula E finale, e.dams-Renault driver Sebastien Buemi and ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport driver Lucas di Grassi were tied on the points.

Buemi started first while Di Grassi started third. Essentially, whoever finished in front would win the 2015-2016 FIA Formula E Series championship.

If neither are able to score points, Di Grassi would win the title.

More from FoxSports

In the first turn, Di Grassi ran into the back of Buemi, wrecking the front suspension of Di Grassi's machine and ripping the rear wing off of Buemi.

It's happened immediately! This is amazing! Di Grassi's off in the 1st corner! What's happened to Buemi... he's OK..

— SPEED (@SPEED) July 3, 2016

While both were able to continue, neither look like they will be able to score points as they have to complete the full race distance in one car, meaning it looks like Di Grassi has the title. However, if one of them takes the fastest lap they will get two bonus points and then win the title.