Latest developments in the announcements of the Nobel Prizes (all times local):


10:10 a.m.

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences is set to announce the winner or winners of this year's Nobel Prize in chemistry at 0945 GMT (5:45 a.m. EDT).

It's the third award in the Nobel lineup; prize judges have already announced the winners of the medicine and physics awards.

Last year's chemistry prize went to Stefan Hell of Germany and Americans Eric Betzig and William Moerner for finding ways to make microscopes more powerful than previously thought possible.

The Nobel announcements continue with literature on Thursday, the Nobel Peace Prize on Friday and the economics award on Monday.


The headlines of this story have been corrected to show that it's the chemistry prize, not physics prize.