Us

Coast Guard Now Says Just 1 Blast on Oil Rig

April 21: In this aerial photo taken in the Gulf of Mexico more than 50 miles southeast of Venice on Louisiana's tip, the Deepwater Horizon oil rig is seen burning. (AP)

April 21: In this aerial photo taken in the Gulf of Mexico more than 50 miles southeast of Venice on Louisiana's tip, the Deepwater Horizon oil rig is seen burning. (AP)

NEW ORLEANS (AP) -- The Coast Guard has retracted its statement that a second explosion occurred on an oil platform that sank off the Louisiana coast.
Petty Officer Tom Atkeson says a computer time-stamp problem created a mistaken impression that a crew member reported an initial explosion three hours before the rig went up in flames Tuesday.
Atkeson and two other spokesmen, including Coast Guard Senior Chief Petty Officer Mike O'Berry were mistaken when they told The Associated Press that crew members reported the first blast at 8 p.m. EDT (0100 GMT).
He says only one report was sent and that was at 11 p.m. EDT (0300 GMT).