Latest developments in the announcements of the Nobel Prizes (all times local):


11:55 a.m.

Takaaki Kajita and Arthur McDonald have won the 2015 Nobel Prize in physics.

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences cited the researchers "for the discovery of neutrino oscillations, which shows that neutrinos have mass."

Neutrinos are particles that whizz through the universe at nearly the speed of light.


9:55 a.m.

The winner or winners of this year's Nobel Prize in physics are set to be announced at 0945 GMT by a committee at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.

Since the Nobel Prizes were first handed out in 1901, 198 laureates have received the physics award. Only two were women.

American scientist John Bardeen is the only person to have won the physics award twice, in 1956 and 1972.

On Monday the 2015 Nobel Prize in medicine went to scientists from Japan, the U.S. and China who discovered drugs that are now used to fight malaria and other tropical diseases.

The prize announcements continue with chemistry on Wednesday, literature on Thursday, the Nobel Peace Prize on Friday and the economics award next Monday.