Australia, Malaysia and Netherlands governments to mark anniversary of Flight 17 disaster

Australia's prime minister says the Australian, Malaysian and Dutch governments will hold services on July 17 to mark the first anniversary of the shooting down of a Malaysia Airlines plane over Ukraine with the loss of 298 lives.

Prime Minister Tony Abbott told Parliament on Monday that Australian lawmakers will be recalled to Parliament House for the national service and a plaque will be unveiled in the House of Representatives' gardens inscribed with the names of all victims.

The victims included 39 Australian citizens and permanent residents.

The shooting down of Flight 17 as the Boeing 777 flew from Amsterdam to Kuala Lumpur was the second of two disasters that struck the troubled airline last year.