Document: EU sanctions over Ukraine crisis hits inner circle of Russian government

The European Union is hitting the inner circle of President Vladimir Putin with its visa ban and asset freeze sanctions, with the inclusion of a deputy prime minister, a presidential adviser and the federation speaker.

EU leaders agreed to add 12 more people to bring the list to 33 officials and added Deputy Prime Minister Dmitry Rogozin and at least two other who already made it onto a U.S. list of targets early this week, a document obtained on Friday by The Associated Press showed.

It also included several military officials.

Beyond the targeting of officials linked to the annexation of the Crimean Peninsula, the EU leaders also decided at their summit to prepare economic sanctions in case the situation in eastern Ukraine deteriorates further.