Sri Lanka's captain Angelo Mathews won the toss and chose to bat in the fifth and final one-day international against South Africa in Colombo on Wednesday.

The hosts, who have an unassailable 3-1 lead in the series, rested Mahela Jayawardene, Lasith Malinga, Upul Tharanga and Rangana Herath for the day-night game at the Premadasa stadium.

They were replaced by seamer Suranga Lakmal, spinner Sachithra Senanayake, and young batsmen Angelo Perera and Kusal Perera.

The tourists recalled fast bowler Ryan McLaren and spinner Aaron Phangiso in place of Rory Kleinveldt and Robin Peterson.

Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews (capt), Kusal Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Kumar Sangakkara, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Lahiru Thirimanne, Thisara Perera, Angelo Perera, Ajantha Mendis, Sachithra Senanayake, Suranga Lakmal.

South Africa: AB de Villiers (capt), Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Aaron Phangiso, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

Umpires: Richard Kettleborough (ENG) and Raveendra Wimalasiri (SRI) TV umpire: Ranmore Martinesz (SRI) Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)