Complete List of Nominations

The 2002 Tony Award nominations:

Play: The Goat, Fortune's Fool, Metamorphoses, Topdog/Underdog.

Musical: Mamma Mia!, Sweet Smell of Success, Thoroughly Modern Millie, Urinetown The Musical.

Book of a Musical: Mamma Mia! by John Guare, Sweet Smell of Success by Richard Morris and Dick Scanlan, Thoroughly Modern Millie by Greg Kotis, Urinetown The Musical.

Best Original Score (Music & Lyrics): Sweet Smell of Success, Marvin Hamlisch (music), Craig Carnelia (lyrics); Thoroughly Modern Millie, Jeanine Tesori (music), Dick Scanlan (lyrics); Thou Shalt Not, Harry Connick, Jr. (music & lyrics); Urinetown The Musical, Mark Hollmann (music), Mark Hollmann & Greg Kotis (lyrics).

Original Score: Sweet Smell of Success, Jeanine Tesori (music), Dick Scanlan (lyrics); Thoroughly Modern Millie, Harry Connick, Jr. (music & lyrics); Thou Shalt Not, Mark Hollmann (music); Mark Hollmann & Greg Kotis (lyrics), Urinetown The Musical.

Revival-Play: The Crucible, Morning's at Seven, Noises Off, Private Lives.

Revival-Musical: Into the Woods, Oklahoma!

Special Theatrical Event: Bea Arthur on Broadway, Just Between Friends, Elaine Stritch at Liberty, Mostly Sondheim, Sexaholix ... a love story.

Actor-Play: Alan Bates, Fortune's Fool; Billy Crudup, The Elephant Man; Liam Neeson, The Crucible; Alan Rickman, Private Lives; Jeffrey Wright, Topdog/Underdog.

Actress-Play: Kate Burton, Hedda Gabler; Lindsay Duncan, Private Lives; Laura Linney, The Crucible; Helen Mirren, Dance of Death; Mercedes Ruehl, The Goat.

Actor-Musical: Gavin Creel, Thoroughly Modern Millie; John Cullum, Urinetown The Musical; John Lithgow, Sweet Smell of Success; John McMartin, Into the Woods; Patrick Wilson, Oklahoma!

Actress-Musical: Sutton Foster, Thoroughly Modern Millie; Nancy Opel, Urinetown The Musical; Louise Pitre, Mamma Mia!; Jennifer Laura Thompson, Urinetown The Musical; Vanessa Williams, Into the Woods.

Featured Actor-Play: Frank Langella, Fortune's Fool; William Biff McGuire, Morning's at Seven; Brian Murray, The Crucible; Sam Robards, The Man Who Had All the Luck; Stephen Tobolowsky, Morning's at Seven.

Featured Actress-Play: Kate Burton, The Elephant Man; Katie Finneran, Noises Off; Elizabeth Franz, Morning's at Seven; Estelle Parsons, Morning's at Seven; Frances Sternhagen, Morning's at Seven.

Featured Actor-Musical: Norbert Leo Butz, Thou Shalt Not; Gregg Edelman, Into the Woods; Shuler Hensley, Oklahoma!; Brian d'Arcy James, Sweet Smell of Success; Marc Kudisch, Thoroughly Modern Millie.

Featured Actress-Musical: Laura Benanti, Into the Woods; Harriet Harris, Thoroughly Modern Millie; Spencer Kayden, Urinetown The Musical; Judy Kaye, Mamma Mia!; Andrea Martin, Oklahoma!

Scenic Design: John Lee Beatty, Morning's at Seven; Tim Hatley, Private Lives; Daniel Ostling, Metamorphoses; "Douglas W. Schmidt, Into the Woods.

Costume Design: Jenny Beavan, Private Lives; Jane Greenwood, Morning's at Seven; Susan Hilferty, Into the Woods; Martin Pakledinaz, Thoroughly Modern Millie.

Lighting Design: Paul Gallo, The Crucible; David Hersey, Oklahoma!; Natasha Katz, Sweet Smell of Success' Brian MacDevitt, Into the Woods.

Choreography: Rob Ashford, Thoroughly Modern Millie; John Carrafa, Into the Woods; John Carrafa, Urinetown The Musical; Susan Stroman, Oklahoma!

Direction of a Play: Howard Davies, Private Lives' Richard Eyre, The Crucible, Daniel Sullivan, Morning's at Seven, Mary Zimmerman, Metamorphoses.

Direction of a Musical: James Lapine, Into the Woods, Michael Mayer, Thoroughly Modern Millie; Trevor Nunn, Oklahoma!; John Rando, Urinetown The Musical.

Orchestrations: Benny Andersson, Bjorn Ulvaeus & Martin Koch, Mamma Mia!; Doug Besterman & Ralph Burns, Thoroughly Modern Millie; William David Brohn, Sweet Smell of Success; Bruce Coughlin, Urinetown The Musical.

Special Awards: Julie Harris and Robert Whitehead.

Regional Theater: Williamstown Theatre Festival.