Denny Hamlin passed Kyle Larson and Joey Logano in overtime to win the Xfinity Series race Saturday at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Larson appeared to have victory in his sights, but a caution came out with two laps to go when Erik Jones' tire went down, forcing a two-lap overtime situation.

Hamlin, who was penalized earlier for an uncontrolled tire, says "we chose to play the tire game and it worked out."

Larson and Logano, who were running 1-2, elected to stay on the track while Hamlin pitted for four tires. The strategy proved correct as Hamlin first passed Larson, who got loose and hit the wall, and then Logano to win going away.

Austin Dillon finished second and Logano was third. Cole Custer was fourth and Justin Allgaier was fifth.