WNBA names All-Star starters

New York, NY ( - Minnesota Lynx forward Maya Moore led the list of players voted to start the 2014 WNBA All-Star Game, to be played Saturday, July 19 at US Airways Center in Phoenix.

Final returns in balloting for the All-Star Game were disclosed Tuesday night.

Moore, the MVP of the 2013 WNBA Finals, topped all players with 28,389 votes. Chicago Sky forward Elena Delle Donne, last season's Rookie of the Year, led all Eastern Conference players with 26,129 tallies. Delle Donne, though, has played just once in the last 10 games while she recovers from Lyme Disease.

Moore, a three-time All-Star, was joined in the Western Conference by 2013 regular-season MVP Candace Parker of the Los Angeles Sparks, Phoenix's Brittney Griner and Diana Taurasi, along with Tulsa Shock guard Skylar Diggins.

Atlanta's Shoni Schimmel and Angel McCoughtry, New York's Cappie Pondexter and Indiana's Tamika Catchings were voted to start for the East. Catchings has been voted as a starter for all nine All-Star contests played since her first active season in the WNBA in 2002. Schimmel was voted as a starter despite playing primarily as a reserve.