Ovechkin named to NHL First and Second All-Star Teams

Washington Capitals forward Alex Ovechkin highlights the 2012-13 NHL All-Star teams, making First Team as a right winger and Second Team as a left winger.

A previous five-time selection to the NHL First All-Star Team at left wing, Ovechkin becomes just the second player in NHL history to receive the honor at multiple positions. Mark Messier was named to the squad twice as a left wing (1980-81, 1981-82) and twice as a center (1989-90, 1991-92).

While most voters selected Ovechkin at right wing to make him a decisive winner at that position, the 27-year-old Moscow native received enough votes from other voters as a left wing -- the position he played for each of his seven prior NHL seasons and for a handful of games in 2012-13.

Ovechkin tallied 32 goals in 48 games, including 23 in his final 23 contests, to become a three-time winner of the Hart Trophy as NHL MVP and the Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy as the league's goal-scoring leader.

He finished third in the NHL in points (56), leading the Capitals to their fifth Southeast Division title in the last six years.

Joining Ovechkin on the First Team is center Sidney Crosby of the Pittsburgh Penguins, who garnered his second career First Team berth, and four newcomers to the First Team -- Penguins left wing Chris Kunitz, Columbus Blue Jackets goaltender Sergei Bobrovsky, Montreal Canadiens defenseman P.K. Subban and Minnesota Wild defenseman Ryan Suter.

Among those named to the Second Team with Ovechkin are goaltender Henrik Lundqvist of the New York Rangers, who collected his first Second Team berth to go along with his First Team nomination last season; defensemen Kris Letang of the Pittsburgh Penguins and Francois Beauchemin of the Anaheim Ducks, both first-time selections; center Jonathan Toews of the Chicago Blackhawks, also a first-time selection; and right wing Martin St. Louis of the Tampa Bay Lightning, voted to the Second Team for the fourth time.

Voting for the All-Star Team is conducted among representatives of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association at the end of the regular season.