Cowboys Stadium to host first playoff era National Championship game

When the two finalists of the first four- team playoff in college football are decided, they will do battle at Cowboys Stadium for the national championship.

Bill Hancock, the executive director of the College Football Playoff, made the announcement for the championship game's location on Wednesday, with the contest scheduled for Jan. 12, 2015.

The football playoff system, which will begin with the 2014-15 season, will feature the four teams chosen by a yet-to-be-named selection committee and will use a six-bowl rotation for hosting purposes, with the Rose Bowl, Sugar Bowl, Orange Bowl, Fiesta Bowl, Cotton Bowl and Chick-Fil-A Bowl having been selected as choices.

Each bowl will host a national semifinal every three years, with the National Championship Game being played in a different U.S. city each year.

"The first championship game of the College Football Playoff era is going to be very special, and Cowboys Stadium is a wonderful place to host the first game," said Hancock. "We're also pleased to announce the three other bowls that will be part of the College Football Playoff, because rotating the event means more fans in more cities can experience it in person. Each day that passes by is one day closer to the College Football Playoff era."