Bonds, Clemens among new names on Hall of Fame ballot

All-time home run leader Barry Bonds and seven-time Cy Young winner Roger Clemens are among the 24 first-time candidates on the 2013 Baseball Hall of Fame ballot released Wednesday.

Also on the ballot for the first time are outfielders Sammy Sosa, Kenny Lofton, Shawn Green, Steve Finley, Reggie Sanders and Rondell White; pitchers Curt Schilling, David Wells, Aaron Sele and Woody Williams; relievers Roberto Hernandez, Jose Mesa and Mike Stanton; catchers Mike Piazza and Sandy Alomar Jr.; infielders Julio Franco, Royce Clayton, Todd Walker and Jeff Cirillo; outfielders/first baseman Jeff Conine and Ryan Klesko; and utilityman Craig Biggio.

They join 13 holdovers that include first basemen Mark McGwire, Don Mattingly, Fred McGriff, Rafael Palmiero and Jeff Bagwell; outfielders Dale Murphy, Tim Raines, Larry Walker and Bernie Williams; shortstop Alan Trammell; third baseman/designated hitter Edgar Martinez; and pitchers Jack Morris and Lee Smith.

Bonds, who set the all-time mark in home runs with 762 over 22 seasons and also set the single-season mark for homers with 73 in 2001, Clemens and Sosa are among the players whose stats have been questioned due to accusations of using performance-enhancing drugs in their careers.

McGwire is another player mentioned in the PED conversation and has been on the ballot for six years now without receiving an invitation into the hall despite hitting 583 home runs in his 16-year career.

Players may stay on the ballot for up to 15 years provided they receive five percent of the vote each year.

McGwire appeared in 19.5 percent of ballots last year to earn the ability to return.

Candidates must be named on 75 percent of the ballots cast by members of the Baseball Writers' Association of America with 10 or more consecutive years' experience to gain entry into the National Baseball Hall of Fame.

Results from the balloting will be announced January 9, 2013.