Trucks head to Kentucky

While the Sprint Cup Series competes at New Hampshire Motor Speedway, the Camping World Truck Series will join Nationwide at Kentucky Speedway this weekend.

The Truck Series had normally accompanied Sprint Cup at New Hampshire in the fall, but the 1.058-mile New England racetrack was dropped from the schedule this year.

After finishing second in last Saturday's race at Iowa Speedway, rookie Ty Dillon took over the points lead. Dillon, the younger brother of 2011 truck champion Austin Dillon, holds an eight-point advantage over Timothy Peters.

"It feels great to get the points lead, but that doesn't guarantee how we will finish out the season," Dillon said. "We're going to keep our heads down and keep digging. This whole team has worked so hard this season, and they deserve to be sitting on top of the points battle."

Peters, who had led in points for seven races, placed 19th at Iowa.

Dillon finished third at Kentucky three months ago. He had an 18th-place run in his first truck race there in Oct. 2011.

"We had a fast truck when we were there in June and have a good place to start for when we get back to the track this weekend," he said. "I hope to better that top-three finish this time around."

James Buescher, who is just 11 points behind Dillon, won at Kentucky in June. He led 119 of 150 laps. All three of Buescher's victories this season have come at 1.5-mile tracks. He won in April at Kansas and in July at Chicagoland.

"I feel that the intermediate tracks suit this team the best," Buescher said. "There is no better place to make a statement than with a season-sweep in front of the great fans at Kentucky."

Ryan Blaney, the son of NASCAR veteran Dave Blaney, will drive Brad Keselowski Racing's No. 29 RAM for the second week in a row. At age 18, Blaney became the youngest driver to win a race in the 18-year history of the Truck Series. It came in just his third start.

There have seven first-time race winners this year, tying the record for most inaugural winners in a season, set in 1997 and matched the following year.

Thirty-six teams are on the preliminary entry list for the Kentucky 201.

Series: NASCAR Camping World Truck. Date: Friday, September 21. Race: Kentucky 201. Site: Kentucky Speedway. Track: 1.5-mile oval. Start time: 7:30 p.m. (et). Laps: 134. Miles: 201. 2011 Winner: Ron Hornaday Jr. Television: Speed. Radio: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Satellite.