Kentucky's Davis chosen as Robertson Trophy winner

Kentucky freshman Anthony Davis has been selected as the winner of the Oscar Robertson Trophy, presented annually to the national player of the year by the United States Basketball Writers Association.

Davis becomes the second freshman to capture the honor, joining Texas' Kevin Durant in 2007-08. He is also just the second player from an SEC school to win it. LSU's Pete Maravich was the winner in 1968-69 and again the following year.

In 36 games this season, Davis has averaged 14.3 points with 10.1 rebounds for the Wildcats. He helped Kentucky to a perfect SEC record and will lead the Wildcats into the South Region semifinals on Friday against Indiana.

The Chicago native also leads the nation with 166 blocks and is second in field goal percentage at 63.6 percent. He was the SEC player of the year and the conference's top defensive player as well.