Ewing headlines college basketball HOF class

Patrick Ewing, who helped Georgetown reach three NCAA title games and won a national championship with the Hoyas in 1984 before a long NBA career with the New York Knicks, will be inducted into the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame.

The 7-foot former center leads a list of 10 players, coaches and contributors who were announced Tuesday as the class of 2012.

Also set to be inducted are fellow players Earl Monroe of Winston-Salem State, Grambling's Willis Reed, Clyde Lovellette of Kansas, Phil Ford of North Carolina and Wyoming's Kenny Sailors.

Coaches Joe B. Hall, who succeeded Adolph Rupp at Kentucky, and Dave Robbins, who coached Virginia Union for 30 years, will also be inducted.

Businessman Jim Host and Joe Dean -- a player at LSU, then Converse executive, TV analyst and LSU athletic director -- will be inducted as contributors.

The ceremony will be held Nov. 18 at the Midland Theatre in Kansas City.