FCS contigent grows for NFLPA all-star game

The number of Football Championship Subdivision players who will participate in the AstroTurf NFLPA Collegiate Bowl on Saturday is rising.

At least 16 FCS players will participate in the all-star game at The Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif. (6 p.m. ET, NBC Sports Network).

FCS players on the American squad are Furman offensive guard Ryan Lee and linebacker Kadarron Anderson, Liberty defensive tackle Asa Chapman, Southern wide receiver Jared Green, Eastern Washington senior quarterback Bo Levi Mitchell, Florida A&M kicker Trevor Scott, Cal Poly defensive end Matthew Singletary, Morgan State defensive end Zary Stewart, Hampton wide receiver Isaiah Thomas, Stephen F. Austin safety Ben Wells and Bucknell/Rhode Island safety Ahkiel White.

The National squad has five FCS players, Southern wide receiver LaQuinton Evans, Delaware State offensive tackle Keith Newell, Georgia Southern cornerback/kickoff returner Laron Scott, Liberty tight end Tommy Shavers and Hampton cornerback Peyton Thompson.

Northwestern State defensive back Jeremy Lane and Stephen F. Austin offensive lineman Georgia Bias also may play in the game.

Former Super Bowl-winning coaches Tom Flores and Dick Vermeil will serve as head coaches.