Mitchell headlines FCS contingent in NFLPA all-star game

Ten players from the Football Championship Subdivision have accepted invitations to play in the AstroTurf NFLPA Collegiate Bowl Jan. 21 in Carson, Calif.

Full rosters have yet to be announced, but the growing list includes Eastern Washington senior quarterback Bo Levi Mitchell. Last Friday, he was named the 25th recipient of the Walter Payton Award, which honors the outstanding player in the FCS, is presented by The Sports Network and sponsored by

Other FCS players scheduled to play in the NFLPA game are Georgia Southern cornerback/kickoff returner Laron Scott, Stephen F. Austin offensive lineman Georgia Bias and defensive back Ben Wells, Bucknell/Rhode Island defensive back Ahkiel White, Delaware State offensive lineman Keith Newell, Florida A&M kicker Trevor Scott, Hampton wide receiver Isaiah Thomas, and Southern wide receivers LaQuinton Evans and Jared Green.

Former Super Bowl-winning coaches Tom Flores and Dick Vermeil will serve as head coaches.

The game will be played at The Home Depot Center and broadcast on NBC Sports Network beginning at 6 p.m. ET.