Baylor's Griffin III wins Heisman Trophy

Quarterback Robert Griffin III has become the first player from Baylor to win the Heisman Trophy.

Griffin beat out Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck, running backs Trent Richardson of Alabama and Montee Ball of Wisconsin and versatile LSU cornerback Tyrann Mathieu.

Griffin, a junior, has had the type of electric season that won Cam Newton the award last year, throwing for 3,998 yards and 36 touchdowns while running for 644 yards and nine more scores for the 15th-ranked Bears (9-3).

He is one of only four players in major college football history with at least 9,000 yards passing and 2,000 yards rushing in his career.