Fox News - Fair & Balanced

Search Site

Musicians Hall of Fame announces new inductees

Tuesday, July 01, 2008

NASHVILLE, Tenn. —  Booker T. and the MGs, the Memphis Horns and the Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section will become the newest members of the Musicians Hall of Fame.

Musician and producer Al Kooper, producer Billy Sherrill and Buddy Holly's band the Crickets also will be inducted this year.

Rock guitarist Peter Frampton and country music great George Jones announced the selections Tuesday.

Booker T. and the MGs helped create the famed Memphis sound in the '60s, playing on recordings by Otis Redding, Sam and Dave, and Rufus Thomas.

The Memphis Horns also were an integral part of Memphis music in the '60s and '70s, appearing on nearly every recording on Stax Records.

The Alabama-based Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section worked on classics like Aretha Franklin's "Respect" and the Staple Singers "I'll Take You There."

Kooper recorded with the Rolling Stones, Bob Dylan and Jimi Hendrix and also produced the first three Lynyrd Skynyrd albums.

Sherrill produced records by Johnny Cash, Tammy Wynette, George Jones, Elvis Costello and many others.

And the Crickets influenced everyone from the Beatles to Bruce Springsteen with songs like "Not Fade Away" and "That'll Be the Day."

A formal induction ceremony will be held in October.


On the Net:

Copyright 2008 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.



most active