Motion Picture Academy Invites 120 New Members

NEWYou can now listen to Fox News articles!

Jake Gyllenhaal, Werner Herzog, Dolly Parton and Dakota Fanning were among those who received one of Hollywood's most exclusive invitations Wednesday.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences — which votes on the Oscars — invited them to join its ranks.

The academy offered membership to 120 actors, directors, producers, animators, cinematographers, musicians, writers, editors and other industry professionals to fill vacancies in the organization created by retirement or death, academy President Sid Ganis said.

Candidates are considered by committees from the academy's 14 branches.

Among the 2006 invitees: eight Oscar winners and 39 nominees, including Rachel Weisz, Terrence Howard, Felicity Huffman, Heath Ledger, Joaquin Phoenix, David Strathairn, "Crash" producer Cathy Shulman, "Crash" co-screenwriter Bobby Moresco and "Pride & Prejudice" composer Dario Marianelli.