50 Cent Named 'Songwriter of the Year' at ASCAP Awards

Songwriters turned out to honor their own Monday as the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers presented its top Pop Music Awards.

Winners included rapper 50 Cent, rock band Green Day, singer-songwriter Annie Lennox and EMI Music Publishing.

Songwriter of the Year honors went to 50 Cent for his contributions to five award-winning songs in 2005.

For Song of the Year, Green Day's "Boulevard of Broken Dreams" tied with "We Belong Together," written by Johnta Austin, Jermaine Dupri and Manuel Seal. Green Day also earned the ASCAP Creative Voice Award.

Lennox captured the ASCAP Founders Award for her inspirational contributions to music. EMI Music Publishing was named Publisher of the Year for its 17 award-winning songs.

The annual awards program was hosted by ASCAP's president and chairwoman, Marilyn Bergman, at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.