This Week in Golf -- Dec. 11-17

Philadelphia, PA ( - PGA TOUR - FRANKLIN TEMPLETON SHOOTOUT, Tiburon Golf Club, Naples, Florida - The PGA Tour moves to Florida this week for the Franklin Templeton Shootout.

The tournament features 24 players competing in a team format that consists of a modified alternate-shot during the first round, a better ball on Saturday and a Sunday scramble.

Steve Stricker, who is paired with Jerry Kelly, is the highest ranked player in the field at No. 7. Matt Kuchar, Brandt Snedeker and Jason Dufner, the eighth, ninth and 10th ranked players in the world, are also participating.

Kuchar and Snedeker will compete as a team, while Dufner will be paired with Dustin Johnson.

Last year, Sean O'Hair and Kenny Perry combined to shoot a 31-under-par 185 and defeat the team of Charles Howell III and Rory Sabbatini by a single stroke.

It was the third time Perry won the title at this event and he did so each time with a different partner. Perry and O'Hair will return as a duo this year and will try to become the first back-to-back winners since Hank Kuehne and Jeff Sluman turned the trick in 2003 and 2004.

Golf Channel will have television coverage of the first round before handing off to NBC for the weekend.

The PGA Tour will take the next two weeks off before returning on January 3 for the Hyundai Tournament of Champions in Hawaii, where Johnson carded a 5- under 68 on Tuesday to post a 4-stroke victory last January. The tournament was shortened to 54 holes that were competed over just two days due to heavy winds in the area.


NELSON MANDELA CHAMPIONSHIP, Mount Edgecombe Country Club, Durban, South Africa - The European Tour remains in South Africa this week for the Nelson Mandela Championship.

The tournament was originally scheduled to run from Thursday through Sunday, but will now start on Wednesday and conclude on Saturday in order to accommodate for the funeral for Nelson Mandela, who passed away on Thursday.

Last season, Scott Jamieson parred both playoff holes to defeat Steve Webster and Eduardo de la Riva and earn his first career win on the European Tour. That tournament was shortened to just 36 holes after rain washed out the first two days.

Jamieson will return to defend his title in the Sunshine Tour co-sanctioned event.

Golf Channel will have television coverage of this event.

The European Tour will break for three weeks at the conclusion of this event until reconvening on January 9 for the Volvo Golf Champions, which Louis Oosthuizen rallied to win last season.


PNC FATHER/SON CHALLENGE, Ritz-Carlton Golf Club, Orlando, Florida - Twenty family teams will gather in Florida this week for the final event of the 2013 season, the PNC Father/Son Challenge.

This event returned last year after a four-year absence and saw the team of Davis Love III and his son, Davis "Dru" Love IV, earn a 1-stroke win over Larry and Josh Nelson. The Nelsons won the title the previous time the tournament was contested in 2008.

The Loves and Nelsons will return this year against a field that also includes former winners Bernhard Langer (2005-06), Hale Irwin (2003), Raymond Floyd (1995-97, 2000-01) and tournament host Jack Nicklaus (1999).

The event is a two-day competition with the teams playing a two-man scramble.

The only two players to not be teamed with their sons will be Langer and Fuzzy Zoeller, who will each play alongside their daughters.

Golf Channel will have early coverage of both days before handing off to NBC for the afternoons.


Q-School Final Stage, PGA West Stadium Course, La Quinta, California - Players hoping to gain status for next season on the Tour gather in California this week for the final stage of the Tour's Q-School.

This tournament used to put 25 PGA Tour playing cards up for grabs, but with the changes to the PGA Tour's qualifying process that now offers 50 cards from the Tour, this event is now for inclusion into the upcoming Tour season.

The field this week will include 2013 NCAA Player of the Year Michael Kim, 2013 NCAA individual champion Max Homa, 2012 U.S. Amateur champion Steven Fox and 2012 NCAA Player of the Year Justin Thomas.