Scott Dixon on track for another big weekend at Mid-Ohio after winning pole with record time

Scott Dixon looks as dominant as ever at Mid-Ohio after winning the pole for the IndyCar race and setting a track record in the process.

Dixon has won five times in ten starts at this course, and Sunday is shaping up as a terrific opportunity for him to gain ground in the race for the series title. Juan Pablo Montoya leads by 42 points over Graham Rahal, with Dixon another six points back in third place.

Several drivers bested the previous qualifying record of 1 minute, 5.347 seconds, which was set by Dario Franchitti in 1999 and matched by Gil de Ferran in 2000. Dixon's winning lap was 1:04.5814 in his No. 9 Chevrolet.

Will Power qualified second and Sebastien Bourdais was third. Montoya was 10th.