Sauter aiming for three in a row in Truck Series

Johnny Sauter could make Camping World Truck Series history this weekend at Rockingham Speedway.

Sauter has started the 2013 season with a bang, posting victories in the Feb. 22 race at Daytona and last Saturday's event at Martinsville. He joined Mark Martin as the only drivers in the series to win the first two races of the year. Martin accomplished the feat in 2006. No driver has begun the season with three straight victories.

"This is great to start the year off with two in a row," Sauter said after his win at Martinsville. "We still have 20 races left, and there's a lot that can happen. We need to keep focused and take it all in stride."

This will be the second time the Truck Series competes at Rockingham Speedway. Sauter finished fourth in the inaugural race at this one-mile track last year.

Sauter enters Sunday's 200-mile event at Rockingham with a 12-point lead over rookie Jeb Burton, who is the only other driver with top-five finishes in the first two races this season (fifth at Daytona and third at Martinsville). Matt Crafton, who is Sauter's teammate at ThorSport Racing, is 17 points behind.

Joey Logano is the lone Sprint Cup regular entered in this race. Logano will drive the No. 19 Ford for Brad Keselowski Racing. He is Keselowski's teammate at Penske Racing.

This will be Logano's second career start in trucks. He made his series debut in October 2008 at Talladega, where he started sixth and finished 26th after being involved in a multi-truck wreck. In that same year, Logano ran his first race at Rockingham. He won an ARCA Series event there after starting on the pole and leading 257 of 312 laps.

"I've always wanted to run more NASCAR Camping World Truck races, and to be able to get back in a truck at a place like Rockingham is awesome," Logano said. "I watched that race last year on TV, and I was so jealous of the guys that were out there racing. Rockingham is one of the coolest tracks around. I've run a lot of testing laps around there in Cup cars and Nationwide cars, so I feel like I know what it takes. It should be a blast to get out there and race with the Truck Series regulars."

Kasey Kahne won last year's truck race at Rockingham, driving an entry for Turner Scott Motorsports. Kahne is not competing in this year's event there.

Forty-two teams are on the preliminary entry list for the North Carolina Education Lottery 200.

Series: NASCAR Camping World. Date: Sunday, April 14. Race: North Carolina Education Lottery 200. Site: Rockingham Speedway. Track: 1-mile oval. Start time: 2 p.m. ET. Laps: 200. Miles: 200. 2012 Winner: Kasey Kahne. Television: Speed. Radio: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio.